Our History

The practice was established by Mr Patrick Fitzgerald shortly after he was de-mobbed from the Royal Air Force in 1945. It was situated at 100a Stoke Newington Church Street in Hackney. Above what was then, Locatell's chemist.

In 1967 he moved to a former sweet shop three doors away at No. 94. In February 1974, the practice was taken over by Stephen Davis. It thrived by offering professional, fully comprehensive eye tests, coupled with a complete range of spectacle frames and contact lenses. It was and still is regarded by the patients and local doctors as a friendly, local practice, serving all members of the community.


In April 2014 Mr. Davis decided to enter semi-retirement, and the practice was transferred to the ownership of Mr. Vishal Thanki. Vishal has a wealth of experience in optics and is one of only a small number of Optometrists to have studied and qualified as an Optometrist, Dispensing Optician and Contact lens Specialist. With a passion to drive the practice forward he has the vision to introduce new equipment coupled with modern refractive techniques to this already well established opticians.


The vision to deliver first class clinical care continues today as the practice continues to develop.